team of the t20 world cup 2024

Following a thrilling victory for India in the 2024 T20 World Cup, the ICC has unveiled the Team of the Tournament, showcasing the standout performers across the competition. Notably, India boasts a strong presence with six players securing coveted spots, while Afghanistan, Australia, and the West Indies also contribute players to this prestigious team.

Overview of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Team of the Tournament

The team of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 (in batting order) is:

  1. Rohit Sharma (captain) – India
  2. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper) – Afghanistan
  3. Nicholas Pooran – West Indies
  4. Suryakumar Yadav – India
  5. Marcus Stoinis – Australia
  6. Hardik Pandya – India
  7. Axar Patel – India
  8. Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
  9. Jasprit Bumrah – India
  10. Arshdeep Singha – India
  11. Fazalhaq Farooqi – Afghanistan

12th player: Anrich Nortje – South Africa

Rohit Sharma (Captain) – India

Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Indian cricket team, led his side to their second T20 World Cup victory. Sharma finished as the second top run-scorer of the tournament with 257 runs in eight innings. His notable performance included a stellar 92 against Australia and a crucial 57 in the semi-final against the same team. Sharma’s leadership and batting prowess have been pivotal to India’s success.

A Well-Balanced Team Effort

Joining Sharma at the top of the order is Afghanistan’s explosive wicket-keeper batsman, Rahmanullah Gurbaz. He was the tournament’s leading run scorer, amassing a staggering 281 runs as Afghanistan reached their first-ever World Cup semi-final.

The batting lineup boasts a strong mix of aggression and experience. West Indies’ Nicholas Pooran brings firepower at number three, while India’s Suryakumar Yadav is rewarded for his crucial knocks, including a vital 47 in the semi-final.

All-Rounders Prove Invaluable

The middle order features a trio of all-rounders who significantly impacted the tournament. Australia’s Marcus Stoinis combined impressive batting with handy bowling, contributing 169 runs and 10 wickets. India’s Hardik Pandya displayed his all-around prowess, scoring 144 runs and picking up 11 crucial wickets, including the final over that sealed India’s victory. Fellow Indian all-rounder Axar Patel showcased his versatility with both bat and ball, scoring a vital 47 in the final and taking three wickets for just 23 runs in the semi-final against England.

Bowling Dominance

The bowling attack is a force to be reckoned with. Afghanistan’s leg-spinning wizard Rashid Khan continues to be a menace, taking 14 wickets with an exceptional economy rate of just over six.

The tournament’s Player of the Tournament, Jasprit Bumrah, takes his rightful place in the team. His spell in the final turned the tide in India’s favor, and he finished with a remarkable 15 wickets at an average of just 8.26, boasting an economy rate of a miserly 4.17.

India’s young gun, Arshdeep Singh, impressed everyone with his pace and accuracy, sharing the joint-highest wicket tally of 17 wickets, including a crucial two for 20 in the final. He is joined by Afghanistan’s left-arm quick, Fazalhaq Farooqi, who also snagged 17 wickets, with a standout performance of four for 17 against New Zealand.

South Africa’s Anrich Nortje is the sole representative from the runners-up, providing a reminder of their impressive bowling attack throughout the tournament. He claimed 15 wickets at a superb economy rate of under six.

A Testament to Indian Strength

The strong Indian presence in the ICC’s Team of the Tournament is a testament to their well-rounded performance and deserved victory in the 2024 T20 World Cup. This team showcases a combination of experience, power-hitting, and exceptional bowling skills, making them a truly formidable force.

Sports News

PCB Makes Senseless Demands From BCCI For Champions Trophy 2025

The highly anticipated return of the Champions Trophy in 2025 is facing a potential roadblockContinue Reading...

Australia announced the squad for the tour of England and Scotland

Australia announced the squad for the tour of England and Scotland Cricket Australia announced itsContinue Reading...

Babar Azam’s Delets Post of Congratulating Retiring James Anderson

One of the greatest seam bowlers the world has ever seen, England’s James Anderson, retiredContinue Reading...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.